Ten African Proverbs for Wisdom

Posted on 19/02/2011

0


Regulars to our Continental Breakfast Show would by now know how much I admire proverbs, sayings and valuable words that have been etched on marble, which have been passed on from generation to generation through the eons. But perhaps, and maybe arguably, no proverbs, or wise words are better than those of our African ancestors. This morning allow me to share some of the deep meanings in a bunch of exterior- appearing, very simply strewn together words from the motherland. These are some of my best proverbs from the African continent.

“When the music changes, so does the dance.”

“However long the night, the dawn will break.”

“Don’t set sail on someone else’s star.”

“When there is no enemy within, the enemies outside cannot hurt you.”

Wisdom does not come overnight.”

“Wherever man goes to dwell his character goes with him.”

“Quarrels end, but words once spoken never die.”

“If you climb up a tree, you must climb down the same tree.”

“Until lions have their historians, tales of the hunt shall always glorify the hunter.”

“The fool speaks, the wise man listens.”

I hope I have helped you find reason to proceed this morning, and I also hope I have not made you cry. If my proverbs offend, remember:

“Tears are best dried with your own hand.”

It is well!

